Home / Fresh Stuff / DJ Spen Set To Release His Highly Anticipated Album ‘Soulful Storm’
Join Indinga Creatives Agency

DJ Spen Set To Release His Highly Anticipated Album ‘Soulful Storm’

It has been 6 years since DJ Spen released his first artist album, Transitions, and now fresh for 2021, the Baltimore House legend reveals his highly anticipated new long player, Soulful Storm. Across the album you’ll find a bounty of new Soulful, Gospel, Disco and Afro House gems, including recent singles, Party People with Crystal Waters, The End Of It All with Monique Bingham & Roland Clark, and his forthcoming single I Got The Love with David Morales & Carla Prather. In addition, Soulful Storm features some cherry picked classic covers; including Natalie Cole’s ‘Mister Melody’ with Sheila Ford; Earth Wind & Fire’s ‘Keep Your Head To The Sky’ with Cornell CC Carter; Maxwell’s ‘Sumthin Sumthin’ with Gary Hudgins & Brandon Yancey; and Angie Stone’s ‘Wish I Didn’t Miss You’ with Tasha LaRae. Ablaze with 12 powerful and uplifting songs that feature some of best talent on the scene, Soulful Storm boasts some of DJ Spen’s best work to date, testament to the unrivalled creativity and depth of one of House Music’s best loved artists.

“My second artist album, ‘Soulful Storm’, is a spirit filled labor of love that features some of my favorite artists, musicians and producers. Several of the songs were made during the pandemic, and I think many people will relate to the messages of love, frustration, resilience, and even fun. I truly hope that this collection of songs will move your soul. Enjoy.”DJ Spen


US house icon DJ Spen (aka Sean Spencer) began his illustrious career in the mid-’80s as a 13 year- old Baltimore hip-hop radio DJ, making beats with his group the Numarx. The group was responsible for writing and recording ‘Girl You Know It’s True’, later covered by Milli Vanilli. DJ Spen later moved into the classic Chicago house sound, joining forces with The Basement Boys collective. Working with a group of talented vocalists and musicians, under the name Jasper Street Co., DJ Spen released his first solo production, ‘A Feelin’ on Basement Boys Records in 1995. This was the first in a lauded series of releases for the label that brought Spen commercial and dance floor success over the next decade, earning him international recognition as a house music pioneer.

In 2004, DJ Spen split from The Basement Boys, and eventually founded his new imprints Quantize Recordings and later, Unquantize. Collectively, both labels have notched up an impressive 600+ releases, featuring artists such as Crystal Waters, Ann Nesby, Louie Vega, David Morales, Barbara Tucker, Timmy Regisford, Thommy Davis, and so many more. As a remixer, he has put his own stamp on anthems from Diana Ross, Michael Jackson, Everything But The Girl, Toni Braxton and more. As a DJ, Spen has been spinning across the globe, holding down a busy tour schedule for the past 30 years, bringing his magic to clubs and festivals, establishing his status as an eminent figure in dance music, both past and present.

DJ Spen ‘Soulful Storm’ Album Will Be Released On Traxsource Promo February 12th / Full Release February 26th 2021 On Quantize Recordings

Click To Join The Agency

Check Also


Kamweretho – Tina Ardor & Atmos Blaq featuring Hendrick Sam

Pasqua Records presents Kamweretho by Tina Ardor & Atmos Blaq featuring Hendrick Sam. Tina Ardor teams …